The law requires that drivers carry minimal levels of insurance before they may drive. The minimum amounts required for liability coverage vary by state. Examples of minimum coverage are: Alabama – 25/50/25 – 25/50/15 Georgia – 25/50/25 For example, if the person who caused the accident resulting in your injuries carries the minimum in Alabama, your medical bills, lost wages and other damages related to the accident would be covered up to $25,000. The second number represents the total dollars that would be paid for all bodily injury claims in the accident ($50,000). The final number ($25,000) is the payment limit for property damage to another person’s property as the result of the accident. Again, using Alabama as an example, if the at-fault driver carries these minimums, then the insurance company will only pay up to $25,000 in total property damage for the accident. This includes all other vehicles, fences, road signs, etc. If there were multiple cars involved, other types of damage or your car is worth more than $25,000, you may need to pursue the difference elsewhere, either through your insurance company, if you carry optional collision coverage, or by filing suit against the at-fault driver for the difference.